More Than Just DesireMore Than Just Desire by Summerita Rhayne

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

What happens when a heartless woman, an out of job Bollywood diva, faces the husband, a successful film maker, she left behind under bitter circumstances three years ago?

The story started a bit slow and predictable for me with run-of-the-mill romance between an obsessive aggressive man and a flighty commitment-phobic woman. Romance and humor seemed a bit forced at a couple of places. Perhaps I didn’t find the two characters likeable enough to be interested in the beginning. Or there were more instances of tell than show. However, by the middle of the book, the writing picked up and I wanted to know more about how the two became what they became. I thought I might be asking for too much from a predominantly romance novel but I was more or less satisfied with the answers, although a few things like Piya’s transformation and life during the three years away and spiritual leanings weren’t explored. The characters grow on you as you digest the well-written details of their personality. Mid-novel when they settle into happy co-existence, you fear for what might unpredictably happen to them because you know that while the desire is strong, closure to personality issues is not within sight. This is where one realizes that the spiritual purpose of romance books is to use erotic love to understand human complexities. As I grew up mostly on western romance books, I find Summerita’s stories more deep and meaningful with their unusual but easy-to-relate-to Indian characters than the original mills&boon variety.

View all my reviews

