Different people handle the same situations differently. Why? Why do different people have different attitudes to life? Why do they feel differently in different situations? What are these feelings and attitudes made up of? What controls these attittudes?

While exploring the above thoughts, I found this definition of the chakras by Minal Hijratwala to be quite helpful:

“The chakras are an energy system first outlined by Indian philosophers, detailed during the medieval period by tantric practitioners.  The overall idea is that there is this energy body that is parallel to our physical body, that interacts with our physical body and affects us and we affect it. And the patterns of where that energy body is balanced or imbalanced or blocked are part of our karmic makeup, what we are working on in this lifetime.”

The statement is so full of information that its truth may not be comprehended by just reading it. So let us analyze the above part by part. To focus on the words that matter, I have attempted to layout the same truth in a flow chart form for the mathematical minds out there (:

Physical body <==interacts with==> energy body ==leads to===>> balanced/imbalanced energy body or blocked/blocked chakras ===> Karmic makeup


Physical body = human body made of muscles, bones, skin, organs all that surgeons and other mortals can see or perceive. Easily described and illustrated

Energy body = Chakras/soul/holy spirit/inner god/cosmic energy whatever you call it, unseen by your surgeon or others but you and only you, can feel it in the tangible way. Difficult to describe but felt as love, compassion, anger, sympathy, generosity, trust, hope, faith, innocence, courage, creativity, attention, desire, peace, satisfaction, caring, joy, security, responsibility, communication powers, diplomacy, detachment, self-respect, forgiveness, and divinity.

Karmic makeup = Our attitudes leading to our actions in this life

So let us first see how physical body and energy body interact with each other. We are all familiar with it so it can hardly be surprising.

Example1: In English, we talk about “listening to our gut.”

The chakra at the belly or the Nabhi chakra controls stomach, liver, intestine, and spleen. Regarding liver, the chakra controls precisely the upper part of the liver which is the organ of our attention. The other qualities besides attention that the Nabhi chakra controls are peace, generosity, caring for others, and satisfaction.

If this chakra is balanced and unblocked, it helps us see things in their true perspective, through purified attention, and that is what we mean when we ‘listen to our gut’.

Depending on how balanced your Nabhi chakra or how accurate your gut feeling is, you make judgements in your personal, social, and professional life. Based on those judgements you behave and do things in a certain way, charting the course of your karma.

Example2: When someone betrays you, you feel that someone punched you in the gut!

According to some, the Nabhi chakra is also about personal power, and so when we feel undermined we feel the shock at that chakra.

So how do you balance this chakra so that you make the right judgements and decisions bringing you greater peace of mind and success? How do you strengthen your personal power sufficiently so as to not be undermined by others?

In my opinion, there are three ways:

1.Observing life and learning how important peace and pure attention is and how generosity and compassion, taking responsibilities and doing your duties can bring peace

2.Following religious text and code of conduct

3.Meditating to activate and strengthen the chakras

If you ask me, points 1 and 3 go hand in hand 🙂

When the Nabhi chakra is activated and balanced, you can only be content in the peace of thoughtless awareness, when you know that the soul is not bothered about passing fads and trends, a button missing here or there. The mantra for Nabhi is: in my soul, I am satisfied. This also makes the organs controlled by the chakra healthier.

Similarly, the other chakras interact with the physical body and negatively or positively affect each other. If you have trouble expressing yourself, you “choke,” if you’re sad, your heart aches. So we already know that the throat is the center of expression and the heart is the center of emotion. When you think, you frown or touch the area between your eyebrows because the third-eye or Agnya chakra controls the mind.

From a point of view, the chakras are just a formalized way to enter into this body-knowledge.

Thanks to:

Minal Hijratwala

Sahaja Meditation